Toppling Cultures

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2017/07/10/wordle-163/

Bird, Cassette, Trail, Bohemian, Warrant, Nascence (adj.)) Beginning to exist, develop.), Chide, Illusory, Everywhere, Topple, Clinch, Insouciant (free from worry, concern, anxiety)

Times of neo-conventional bohemian

Insouciance…followers wear illusory

Utopian philosophy that nothing

Should ever be clinched too tightly—

Not apparel, morals, long-borne beliefs, nor

Tie-dyed relationships as whims should fancy,

Varied and colorful as tropical birds.

They leave their scent trails everywhere

Jasmine, musk, nouveau-health’s cuisine;

Fresh nascence of what they warrant is

True-original…as it ripens to sweetish-sick

Incense of dying…strains of song

Lingering from broken cassettes.

The old guard, how they lecture, chide;

Preach from self-ordained pulpits of

Polished pride—against frangible

Culture doomed to topple; as if any—

Bizarre beaded or buttoned down;

Mere men with, without, recorded

Merit—will somehow get out of

Self’s destruction alive.

Β©Jael Sook, 2017 All rights reserved.

Advertisements which may appear on this blog are not endorsed by the author.

32 thoughts on “Toppling Cultures

        • Hahahahahaha!!! I’ve started the weekend well–it’s only Friday evening and I managed to shop for groceries, and seriously clean my house…now I’m waiting to do laundry (only one machine for 10 tenants…). ‘Course, I didn’t get any writing done, but there’s always next week : πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          • LOL – well I whirlwinded through Friday too – did all the chores and stuff, so now it’s time – time unfolding, apart from needing to mow the frickin’ grass AGAIN – gives me problems (I have long term chronic pain and injuries) so I’ll just see if I bother with it. Anyhow, one moment at a time, and sometimes a little writing break lets new ideas and inspirations come in, while letting the other dangling in the wings take shape πŸ™‚
            have a restful and lovely weekend πŸ™‚

            Like

            • I’m sorry to hear of your chronic pain and injuries–and I really hope you elected to let the grass mowing wait…why? Because as thrilled as I was with my day of super-accomplishment–I am paying big-time today…can’t move without pain, and am eager for bedtime πŸ™‚ Take care of YOU!! ❀

              Liked by 1 person

              • I left the grass to itself! Oh, I totally get it – we have a “good” day and push it, then pay. It’s not fun, but slowly, I’m learning to stop doing this. Hope you feel much better today and can rest up πŸ™‚

                Like

              • I’m glad you left the grass alone–it’s not going anywhere but up, right? πŸ™‚ I’m old enough to know better than to try doing everything in one ridiculous day…sheesh! The thing is, I felt so great while accomplishing much…that I thought I might be rewarded with no crippling effects…the land of denial, that’s where I live πŸ™‚ Today is a bit better, I’ll be smarter next time…I hope πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Take care, Pat! πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

              • I did the grass yesterday – but at least everything was dry – hadn’t rained for a few days, will miracles never cease? so it was easier cutting and didn’t take as long as such, even as it was long – too long. And haahaha – it’s raining today, so I did alright by it and the dogs – they can see their toes πŸ˜‰ But the aching price? oof! but I’ll live.

                That’s the problem sometimes, you get started and then you’re on a roll and you kind of forget the pain, I’m skilled at pushing it into “white noise” – or sometimes, you actually don’t feel so bad at all – so you continue – but it’s always a fine line between “just enough and too far” – and it’s never the same line/demarcation twice – at least not for me. Anyhow, we do the best we can, and maybe one day we’ll “get it right” – πŸ˜‰ Take care too πŸ™‚ Hope you have a wonderful week Jael πŸ™‚

                Like

              • I love hearing from you, Pat! Love our mutual humor, and apparently similar issues, at least in some areas–let’s vote to take things easier this week! πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

              • Exactly–a garbage truck, sheesh! On top of everything, I think I’ve got a summer cold/virus thing: sore/swollen glands…lots of fun, NOT πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Getting the dishes washed was my big triumph of the day, hahahaha! Hang in there, Pat–take good care of YOU! ❀

                Liked by 1 person

              • I can understand that – totally. Patience was never one of my strong points – hahahaha – karmic life lesson? I’d prefer other gift wrapping though 😦 Take the time you need Jael.

                Like

              • You’re so lovely! Now this may make you laugh, as we continue the topic, “Why not use your brain?” Yesterday I dragged my besieged carcass out, thinking a bit of fresh air and minor walking might be a beneficial idea–‘specially as it meant a trip to the library to trade in one stack of unread books for a stack I know I’ll read… And on the way home I stopped at the grocery store, as I needed more bread for what has become my daily fare–peanut butter sandwiches–and I thought some nice RED Jello with fruit might hit the spot refreshingly. Thus, the day was improving in measurable increments–as I managed to post a few “writes”, and continue apologizing that I hadn’t quite gotten to reading others… Before I knew it, that sense of accomplishment had kicked in and it was 4am. This shouldn’t have posed a problem, as I could sleep all day–except that another bone-jarring coughing spell woke me about 6am, and hasn’t settled down sufficiently that I dare try to sleep. I should have used my brain and gone to bed early–but as I’ve shared, I simply can’t do anything in a half-reasonable way : ) πŸ™‚ Hope you are feeling better…and not being so foolish as I πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

              • I’m feeling better physically, but still wracked a bit – damn bone crunching – and mentally, fairing so-so – but yeah, that’s just the problem with “a roll” however slow we step and think – because I know just what you mean – you take it slow, it seems to be getting better, so still slow slow, but not so bad, and then? what’s the time??? LOL – ah, but no biggie – and then – WHAMMO! knocked right over by, in your case, what sounds like a nasty coughing fit!
                Well, hope you feel much better soon and manage to get some much needed rest. :S

                Like

              • I’m keeping you in my prayers, Pat (when I’m not cursing–being sick definitely takes the shine off my saintly halo!)–we will survive, Donna Summer πŸ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

Replies ~

