Courage

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/2017/07/22/wordle-309/

Sometimes life falls on you like a beam

There was nothing to do

But shake off the mean past

Pick up the pieces

Of poor-born dreams

Tie them with heart-string

And carry what remained

Of our shredded souls

To the sea ~

It was the one place

Where, if something might

Trigger hard-edged memories,

Salty foam would heal unseen

Cuts, bruises; wash away the

Old, as sand scrubbed us new.

Grabbing a stick of bleached

Driftwood, my flawed hero

Pushed it firmly in the ground,

A marker post for first steps

Into fragile Future—

“No more silences, no wondering ~

All thoughts open to the light.”

ยฉJael Sook, 2017 All rights reserved.

Advertisements which may appear on this blog are not endorsed by the author.

21 thoughts on “Courage

  1. It was the one place
    Where, if something might
    Trigger hard-edged memories,
    Salty foam would heal unseen

    …..

    what a wonderful image and the way you’ve constructed the ideas and laid them out has made a lasting impression – it’s hard but soft – wonderful duality here – as Paul said, the sense of hope is strong …. lovely Jael ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

      • glad to hear you’re feeling much better Jael ๐Ÿ˜€

        I’m managing pretty well – all things considered – so as long as I be gentle with myself and pay attention to myself, then I should be okay …. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

        • Yes, just don’t do what I do–think you should, or even can, go full-speed when you recover some energy. It’s pure foolishness and destructive–“be gentle and pay attention to yourself”, wise words that I’m taking note of–thank you!! โค

          Liked by 1 person

          • LOL – yup, give people like us a “saving grace” moment of feeling better and we shoot off like rockets …. LOL – fireworks included free of charge, no special events necessary ….. certainly not the brightest thing to do …. so, slow learning here ….. but it gets easier …. lots of hugs and I hope you have a wonderful weekend ๐Ÿ˜€

            Like

            • YES, fireworks free of charge, I do love them!–we’re nearly hopeless!! ๐Ÿ™‚ I only have 2 speeds: Fast and Stop… and I have a feeling I’ll lay rubber on my way to Heaven, what a mess for those streets of gold, doncha know!! I’m looking forward to the weekend–it’s supposed to cool down and actually Rain, talk about Heavenly!!! I may even read a book–a mini-blog vaca…shhh, don’t breathe a word ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

              Liked by 1 person

              • LOL – I hope you had a restful and wonderful weekend – and you’re quite right – FAST and STOP – indeed! ๐Ÿ˜‰ And you have me laughing in delight at the thought of laying rubber on the way to Heaven ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s brilliant and conjures up a wonderful image in my head. ๐Ÿ˜€

                I hope you have a wonderful week – starting off on a more moderate, well-paced foot? We can only set our intentions and then work from there – and of course, it’s always good to be mindful of, “we make plans and God laughs” – ๐Ÿ˜‰ hope you have a wonderful day Jael ๐Ÿ˜€

                Like

              • I’m so glad you got a laugh from my “laying rubber” remark–it is quite the visual, isn’t it, specially if you knew what I look like–fat and frumpy! Yes, I start my day with a very flexible agenda of “intentions”–and I consider it a productive day if even one or 2 things are accomplished before I crash into bed. Today I want to bake yogurt cake, a test one–and then a 2nd, if it “pans” out! I also started reading a novel last night, so I don’t know how much writing I’ll get done–I have a million prompts in my In-Box, yikes!! ๐Ÿ™‚ You have yourself a wonderfully blessed Monday–to continue throughout the week! Remember, “we can coast if we want to” (sung to old Leslie Gore song, “It’s my birthday and I’ll cry if I want to…”) ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

              • LOL@ the birthday singing …. just cause it’s making me smile …. so did you get the cake baked? did it pass the test? or did the dive into the novel, – nothing like an excellent read!- snag you to places other?
                As for prompts? well – honestly, sometimes things just need to percolate – so if you aren’t feeling inclined and just want things to stew a bit – no harm done ๐Ÿ™‚

                well, even not knowing how you look – “f.f.” – seriously, give yourself a break and a well deserved hug, the visual is powerful enough …. still cracks me up ๐Ÿ˜€

                and well, Monday is half way home, I guess – and maybe I’ll be recovered tomorrow – so there is hope ….

                Like

              • It’s been a busy day for sure–baked 2 cakes (they smell yummy), went to the grocery store for a few items, had “words” with management re apartment issues… Now I’m starving, so it must be dinner time! ๐Ÿ™‚ Will probably read this evening, lest I write angry poetry for undeservingly good prompts ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’re on the mend–hope, hope! Keeping you in my prayers ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

                Liked by 1 person

              • yeah, I auto corrected it in my head as the song started to loop of it’s own accord, and I forgot to correct myself in my comment – but hey, I totally know the song, even though I’m only a (tender) bit-hard 48 and counting …. ๐Ÿ˜‰

                Like

              • LOL – that’s an interesting age – 65 – but then, aren’t they all? ๐Ÿ˜‰ besides, age is an illusion of the mind and a product of the body … so if you are truly, apart from bad days, young at heart, then it matters not ๐Ÿ˜€

                Like

Replies ~

